The Inaugural Race to the Morne: A Resounding Success!

The inaugural Race to the Morne took place on Saturday, February 1st, 2020 in celebration of the Nobel Laureate Festival. To honour both Laureates, the activity kicked off from the Derek Walcott Square at 6:25 a.m. and participants raced to the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College – Morne Campus via the La Toc Road.

The activity continued beyond the finish line and participants were treated to energy drinks and fruits before commencing a well-enjoyed and energized Socasize session on campus grounds. In keeping with the goal of encouraging healthier lifestyles, race participants were sensitized with a Health and Wellness booth by the Ministry of Health and also enjoyed short massages.

Winners received prizes of a weekend for two at Villa Beach Cottages in the Derek Walcott Suite; a day pass for two at Jade Mountain and Sandals; Dinner for two at the BodyHoliday and Coco Resorts; lunch for two at the Landings Resort and Spa and Le Forte Restaurant; spa treatments at Bay Gardens Resorts and Escape Ste. Lisi Spa; gym memberships at La Borde’s Gym, Fitness Freaks and Lifestyle Fitness.

The race results are as follows:

Overall (Male)

  • 1st Place Male: Mr. Michael Biscette (19:46.76)
  • 2nd Place Male: Mr. Neville Dupre (20:14.52)
  • 3rd Place Male: Mr. Jason Sayers (22:07.03)

Overall (Female)

  • 1st Place Female: Ms. Chantal Glasgow (29:01.36)
  • 2nd Place Female: Ms. Charlene Louis (34:05.06)
  • 3rd Place Female: Ms. Yvonne Edwin (40:20.53)

Staff (Male)

  • 1st Place Male: Mr. Leviticus Andrew (31:20.72)
  • 2nd Place Male: Mr. Devernant Joseph (35:55.06)
  • 3rd Place Male: Mr. Ted Sandiford (36:06.20)

Staff (Female)

  • 1st Place Female: Ms. Anne-Marie Nervais (38:23.04)
  • 2nd Place Female: Ms. Jacqueline Charlemagne (34:05.06)
  • 3rd Place Female: Ms. Dayne Sydney (42:54.60)


  • 1st Place Male: Mr. Felix Frederick (23:38.30)
  • 2nd Place Male: Mr. Nehemiah Jn. Charles (26:22.99)
  • 3rd Place Male: Mr. Kimani Lubin (33:04.99)

First Three Male Finishers

First Three Female Finishers

Special Prizes were also awarded to the youngest participants, which were received by the youngest male, 5 year-old Gavriel Daniel and youngest female, 8 year-old Byrnelle Fanis. Veteran runner Mr. Charles Sayers received the prize for the most senior male and Mrs. Vernamay Louisy, for most senior female. The Principal also sponsored the Principal’s Prize to the 1st male and 1st female student, on the condition that they complete the race before him. Mr. Felix Frederick (1st place student male) was the only winner of that prize.

The Sir Arthur Lewis Community College wishes to thank its sponsors for contributing to the success of the activity, some of which were not previously mentioned include, Trophy Centre and Ministry of Youth and Sports.

Noteworthy Finshers

View our Race to the Morne gallery for full coverage!

Youngest Male Finisher - 5-year-old, Gavriel Daniel
Youngest Female Finisher - 8-year old, Byrnelle Fanis
Veteran runner, Mr. Charles Sayers, most senior male finisher
Mrs. Vernamay Louisy, most senior female finisher

February 6th, 2020 Events