• Teachers' College moves to Combermere Barracks and Morne Education Complex begins.
  • Organization of Morne Library begins 
  •  Morne Secondary opens its doors
  •  Morne Technical College begins classes.
  • Science Block completed.
  • University Centre relocates to the Morne
  • Technical Teachers Training College begins a Regional programme for Industrial Arts and Science Teachers
  •  Library moves to new quarters in the Science Block
  • GCE A'Level programme for all schools consolidated into a Sixth Form College
  • UWI begins Challenge programme
  • UWI inaugurates UWIDITE System for distance teaching
  • Morne Complex becomes Sir Arthur Lewis Community College (SALCC)
  • OECS Technical Vocational Courses in Industrial Arts and Home Economics being
  • Audio Visual Centre established
  • Commnity outreach begins through the SALCC's Department of Continuing Education
  • College begins offering First Year University courses in Arts, Natural and Social Sciences
  • Victoria Hospital School of Nursing becomes  the Division of Health Sciences of the College.